It was a Dark and Stormy Night

May 30, 2009 at 3:56 am Leave a comment

…The first time Ashbee went Flexitarian grocery shopping.

In all seriousness, it was that kind of night. I can see now why it is so hard to switch to a healthy lifestyle. American Dietary Association makes it look so easy with their brightly-colored triangles, but there not around when your standing in the grocery store not sure what Frozen Edamame is, are they?

The trip was pretty terrifying. I haven’t consistently “grocery shopped”, umm, ever. On top of that my list called for several things I had either never heard of or didn’t know where to find. Like Silken Tofu for example. Where do you find Silken Tofu?

After going through the isles three times … no, really, three times … I gave up. I took what I had on my list exhausted, terrified, and ready to throw in the towel and hit the first fast food window where all I had to choose was numbers.

I was so terrified by the experience of feeling lost in a familiar place that I wasn’t even shocked when the (very nice) lady rung up my total.

 

Yes, that’s 3 digits … count them 1, 2, 3 digits. My total bill was $126.96 and I walked away without tofu or whole grain flat bread. *Sigh*

Once I made it out of the store the adrenaline rush wore off and I felt a little better. Woo-hoo! I did it!

Here’s the grub:

 About the time I pulled onto my road it began to rain, storm, pour. I gave up sitting in my car after 5 minutes and carried everything in.

You can’t be too unhappy when you have a face like this to greet you:

IMG_0573Thank goodness she knows how to ‘sit.’ It’s hard to tell an overexcited little girl “Could you please hang on a minute until I get these ten sopping wet grocery bags sit down? Thanks!”

About half way through putting away the groceries I couldn’t find the milk I was sure I had bought. I had left some groceries in the car. So back out into the rain (did I mention I broke my umbrella?) and back in with these:

Edamame are soybeans, come to find out. 🙂

Yes I know, I do buy bottle water. In all fairness I 1) recycle and 2) have Pur filter that is broken. I know, buy a new one. It’s on the list.

Despite all the awkwardness and frustrations it has been a great night and I am excited to get started tomorrow.

Good-Night!

-Ashbee

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Hello world! Most Important Meal of the Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


